Amsterdam Art Week 17–27 Juni 21 Amsterdam Art Week 17–27 Juni 21 Amsterdam Art Week 17–27 Juni 21

On The Inside is pleased to announce Fragments of sphere, an interdisciplinary exhibition featuring monumental artworks by eight international artists. This marks the venue’s third major group exhibition in Amsterdam since its opening in 2020.  

The artists are David Claerbout, Cyprien Gaillard, Claudia Martínez Garay, Saskia Noor van Imhoff, Matthew Day Jackson, Amalia Pica, Henk Stallinga, and Bill Viola. Their eight artworks exemplify the artists’ innovative approaches to new and digital media. The exhibition aims to showcase new media in its myriad forms—from video projection to sculpture to large-scale installation. 

The exhibition features artworks that explore notions of fragmentation both visually and conceptually. In some of these, the four classical elements play a fundamental role. Water, earth, air, and fire were once believed to make up the entire universe—fragments of a sphere. Today, the implications of these elements are very different: when placed in the context of our changing world, they adopt a new meaning.

With this in mind, the artworks themselves seem to pose similar questions regarding the relationship between nature, technology, and the role of human beings within this dichotomy. As Earth’s landscapes continue to change, what will become of our planet? As technology continues to impact daily life, what will become of humanity? Fragments of sphere invites audiences to explore new approaches to contemporary art within the context of our digitized and changing society. 

The exhibitionis a collaboration between On The Inside (Amsterdam) and Pylon (Dresden). It will be on view in Dresden in the form of several smaller shows or ‘fragments’ at Pylon.

Curated by Annemarie Galani in collaboration with Thomas & Julia Schmelzer

Fragments of Sphere

David Claerbout (BE, 1969), Cyprien Gaillard (FR, 1980), Claudia Martínez Garay (PE, 1983) & Arturo Kameya (PE, 1984), Saskia Noor van Imhoff (CA, 1982), Matthew Day Jackson (US, 1974), Amalia Pica (AR, 1978), Henk Stallinga (NL, 1962), Bill Viola (US, 1951)